OUR HISTORY

St. Paul’s Church of Piqua, Ohio is a church with a rich history dating back to the 1830’s and is rich in German heritage.  In 1845 a small frame church was purchased from the Cumberland Presbyterian congregation and moved to the current location of St. Pauls, corner of Downing and Greene Streets.  In 1853 the church imported its first organ from Bavaria, Germany, built a church addition and a parsonage.  With continued growth, in 1868 the cornerstone for the present building was laid and the building was soon being used by the congregation for worship services, Sunday School classes and fellowship.  In 1888, the bell tower, housing 3 bells, was added to the church.  Over the years, additions and reconstruction of the facility were made, including classrooms, changes in the Sanctuary and to the exterior of the building.  In 1921, large stained glass windows were installed in the Sanctuary.  Each window depicts Christ’s ministry.  These windows remain as beautiful as when they were installed.  In 1960, a new educational wing on the north side of the church was dedicated.

St. Paul’s has been active in the Community of Piqua, providing space for the beginning of the Miami County Rehabilitation Center for Brain Injured Children and Adults, strong support of the Meals-on-Wheels program of Piqua, the FISH program and the Hospital Chaplaincy Council of Miami County.  Space was provided for the start of the Bethany Center soup kitchen ministry. It provided supervision of the Angel Food Ministry for Piqua and leadership for the founding of the Piqua Compassion Network.  Active community involvement continues to this day.

The church provides both traditional and contemporary worship services each Sunday with a Chancel Choir and Praise Team enhancing the services.  It provides a rebroadcast of the Sunday services on local Channel 5 TV.  Recently the church began live-streaming the Sunday morning worship service at 10:15 a.m. through Facebook and YouTube.

History Page.jpeg